Archive for January 11th, 2009

11
Jan
09

It Was Me…….

It took me a while to figure out why my heart hurt so bad when I saw the boy’s face. The anger on his daddy’s face was evident.  I couldn’t tell exactly what the boy had done to bring such a strong reaction from his dad.  All I know is that the little boy was brokenhearted,  plain and simple.  He tried his best to swallow the pain and tough it out.  You could see that with the deep breaths and protruding lip that hadn’t changed much since he was a baby and couldn’t control his emotions at all.  My heart really went out to him.

istock_000001985171medium13

Little guys don’t want to disappoint their dad and this a case of angered disappointment,  for sure.  Frustration had brought a sudden explosion and there was heartache all around.  I don’t think I actually cried myself,  but I certainly could have without a lot of effort.  It took me a while to realize why I connected so deeply with the boy and his dad.  I didn’t know them personally.  Yet I knew them well.   I was that little boy…and I was that angry dad.  The scene had taken me back to a dirt road in Texas when I was eight.  I know the pain of that little boy.  I also know the anger of the father.  I remember vividly the place and time when this story ‘s characters was  me and my son Joel.  You’ve been  there too, I’d be willing to bet.  Are there regrets?  Absolutely. Has there been forgiveness?  I hope for your sake there has been.

Father and Son

All of us share these common stories. Few have been exempt. Pain is ours…our dad’s…and our son’s.  I have never met a man that didn’t have painful memories of such days  and wish he could recall words spoken in haste or impatience. Thankfully there is a loving Father who heals. Even now.  If the thought of those painful times with your own dad brings you sadness;  run to the Father who waits to wipe away your tears. Help someone along the way to understand the pain they inflict on their boy. Pray that seed sown will be uprooted and healing can take place in those little boys’ lives and in yours!




Pages

January 2009
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031